Mercy Hospital of Buffalo recently honored 26 local emergency medical services (EMS) providers, many of them who volunteer as paramedics in their communities, at its 1st Annual EMS Awards Dinner.

Over 100 people gathered for the event to recognize these first responders and “superheroes” for the life-saving efforts they provide on a daily basis. These EMS crews were chosen for their heroic actions in four emergency response calls that went above and beyond to save lives.

Agencies recognized include: Mercy Flight of WNY- James Hamon, Jennifer Crotty, Eric Barkey, Sarah Sporski and Matthew Elderkin; Arcade Rescue Squad- Brian Meyers, Justin Haggerty, Christopher Gleason, Jacob Anderson and Dan Reisdorf; Monroe Ambulance- Robert Mann; Mercy Flight EMS Ground Crew- Daniel Hankey ; Lake Shore Fire Department- Garrett Hileman, Kenneth Erler, Mark Flack, and Jon Good; AMR Ambulance Buffalo- Steven Werner, Brianne Meyer, John Wilger, and Kaitlyn Meyer; and Strykersville Fire Department- Crystal Radecki, Andrew Hope, Eric Kirsch, John Green, Douglas Schwab, William Perl and Edward Mest.

Mercy Flight of WNY was named the EMS Agency of the Year.

Providing remarks at the EMS Awards Dinner, held on November 7 at Michael’s Banquet Facility in Hamburg, NY, were Gregory Gill, Erie County Deputy Commissioner of Emergency Services; Mark Sullivan, President & CEO of Catholic Health; C.J. Urlaub, President & CEO of Mercy Hospital; and Dr. Edward Cosgrove, Medical Director of the Mercy Hospital Emergency Department.